My latest obsession

I am a CA. A Cakist Anonymous, or I should be, if only someone would found this help fellowship.
I bake cake once a week, the ring shaped one.
I pretend with others that it’s because my husband was spoiled by his mom who always made cake for him.
Even worse, I pretend also with myself that this is the reason for my making cake.
The truth is I love cake, I am always looking for new recipes, new ingredients, new taste.
And lately, new shapes.
And I blame the United States for this, because in Italy cake molds are just cake molds, you know.
Instead here cake molds come in all shapes and patterns: round pans, ring pans, bundt molds and loaf molds, for every season and every occasion.
I mean, how could you possibly bake a spiced pumpkin loaf without the proper mold?
Or even lemon poppyseed cake? Impossible, right???

So, in order to justify the money I spent for the molds, now I bake even more cake.
Luckily, doing so I happened to run into a couple of recipes who are serious contenders for the title of “best cake ever”.
Like this one, from “Peace Meals“.
No adaptation required, perfect as it is: soft but not thin, moist but not greasy, great texture, really.
I tried also some minor variations (whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, orange extract instead of vanilla…) which were as good as the original.

CIAMBELLA

Ingredients:
3 eggs
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tsp baking powder
1 cup whipping cream
1 tsp vanilla extract

Istructions
Preheat the oven at 350F.
Beat the eggs with the sugar until fluffy. Then add flour, baking powder and salt, and mix well. Finally add the cream and the vanilla, and mix.
Butter and flour a bundt pan or a ring pan.
Pour the batter into the mold and bake for 35 minutes, until the edges pull slightly away from the mold and the center is set, try not to overbake.
Dust the cake with caster sugar.

PS: If, like me, you have been sloppy in buttering and flouring the mold, you’ll end up with small imperfections in the cake surface. No panic: instead of caster sugar, use your favourite icing to hide them.
And next time, use a sieve to flour the buttered mold.

Nordic Ware Heritage Bundt Pan, aka “The Swirl”

Orecchiette / Comments

