My first mango chutney

Recently I needed a couple of tablespoon of mango chutney.
And I know how I like it, because when C lived in Singapore for six months back in 2008, he used to bring back home certain jars of true and authentic, delicious Indian mango chutney.
By chance I had 2 mangoes which were already beyond ripe, so I decided to make some instead of buying an industrial version at the grocery store.
I used it, then put it in the fridge and completely forgot about it.

But today I was having grilled chicken breast for lunch, and what is grilled chicken breast if not the definition of the very food that needs some dressing?
So to the fridge I went, looking for the mustard.
But then there it was, the mango chutney jar was calling me, with that light amber colour and that seductive bay leaf showing itself just behind the sticker…
I left the mustard and decided to give the chutney a try. And you know what? It’s good, not as good as the Singapore’s one, but good nonetheless.
I’ll spare you the tale of myself frantically searching the house, desperately looking for the piece of paper where, weeks ago, I had scribbled down the ingredients and the quantities as I went… and thank God I never throw anything away!
So I decided that this very precious piece of information is safer here, on the internet…

MANGO CHUTNEY

Ingredients:
2 large mangoes, well ripe, diced
1/2 onion, sliced
1/2 cup vinegar
6 oz sugar
1/2 Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored and crushed
1/2 clove garlic, crushed
1 in fresh ginger root, grated
1 cinnamon stick
2 allspice
4 cloves
5 cardamom pods
6 coriander seeds
1 bay leaves
dash cayenne pepper (powder)
dash dried mustard (powder)

IMG_0063

Orecchiette / Comments

